One For The Murphys Blog Tour!

Novel: One For The Murphys by Lynda Mullaly Hunt | Goodreads
Release Date: May 10th, 2012
Publisher: Nancy Paulsen Books
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Challenge: None

A moving debut novel about a foster child learning to open her heart to a family’s love

Carley uses humor and street smarts to keep her emotional walls high and thick. But the day she becomes a foster child, and moves in with the Murphys, she’s blindsided. This loving, bustling family shows Carley the stable family life she never thought existed, and she feels like an alien in their cookie-cutter-perfect household. Despite her resistance, the Murphys eventually show her what it feels like to belong–until her mother wants her back and Carley has to decide where and how to live. She’s not really a Murphy, but the gifts they’ve given her have opened up a new future.(Synopsis and Image from Goodreads)

Willa’s Rambles:

I loved One For The Murpys. It made me think about so many things I had never thought about before, like “How would I react in this situation? What would I say?” and it made me have such respect for adopted children.

In this book, Carley is not only dealing with living with an entirely new family, but she also is dealing with her inner regrets about her mother, and feeling left out and friendless at school. I loved how Hunt didn’t pull back on any of the scenes – they felt brutally honest and exactly like something that would actually happen.

This book was so fantastic – from start to finish I read it in two hours! It was interesting, thought provoking, and definitely one of my favorite middle grade ever.

And Now For A Giveaway!

Thanks for participating, and you can now pick up a copy at your local book store!

6 thoughts on “One For The Murphys Blog Tour!

  1. Pingback: One for the Murphys Blog Tour Schedule « Lynda Mullaly Hunt

  2. This book really intrigues me for a number of reasons. There are so many older kids in the foster care system and I am always so curious about what happens to them. They have all lead such hard lives and I can’t help but wonder how and if they are able to overcome the psychological damage.

  3. This book is on my TBR list because of all the wonderful things I have heard about it. I have anxiously been awaiting for my local library to get it so I can read it!

Thanks for stopping by! All spam/mean/rude comments will be deleted.

