TGIF {43}: Comfort Books

Comfort Reads: Which books do you go to for comfort & familiarity?  Is there a type of book you seek out when you’re needing that extra bit of comfort in your life?

If you are frequent visitor to my blog, and have read a few of my TGIFs that involve “favorites” than I think you know what my answer to this question is.

Two words: Jellicoe Road.

This book makes me feel all warm and fuzzy and totally disconnected from the outside world. That’s the kind of book I love – one that pulls you into the deep depths of the story and tugs on your heart and makes you yell, “JUST KISS ALREADY!” and makes you flip pages really fast. That book for me is Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta, the Queen of YA. (At least,

in my opinion.)

I do have another one, though! The only other book that I’ve read more than once and love it every time, and is by the King of YA. (Again, in my opinion. There should be an abbreviation for that… IMO? that soundsweird. Shoot off in comments. I’m curious.) Back to the topic at hand.

Paper Towns.

This book makes me laugh. Every. Single. Time. I adore Ben and his crazy weirdness, Margot and her spur of the momentness, Q and his deep thoughts that sometimes aren’t as cool as he hopes (doesn’t that happen to us all?), and Radar with Black Santa house. This book is YA and real life mixed into one book with some cool plot points. I wish this book was my life. I want to be an amateur spy (I don’t know if that’s what he is in the book exactly, but let’s go with it) and go on a road trip with my friends and have to time it down to the second. Let’s do it, buddies. You with me?

What are your Comfort Books? Mine seem to come in handy during stressful times, specifically standardized testing… *shudders* Happy thoughts for the summer, and….

Happy Friday!

One thought on “TGIF {43}: Comfort Books

  1. I haven’t read any of Melina Marchetta or John Green’s books, but I’ve heard great things about them. As a matter of fact, I just got Jellicoe Road at my library. I’ve heard it can get a bit confusing at times… but I guess I’ll really have to read it now!

Thanks for stopping by! All spam/mean/rude comments will be deleted.

